Win a Pair of Cycling Sunglasses

30
Sep
2011

As I’ve been known to say in the past….“My Momma tells me I was born with a pair of sunglasses on my face”.  Yep, I honestly can’t remember too many days in my life when I wasn’t sporting a pair while cycling or doing anything else outside.

So you just have to know that when a company approaches me and asks if I’d like to review a pair of sunglasses, I’m going to say yes.  But over here at Loving the Bike we don’t like to do just plain old reviews….we like to bring you into the mix and supply a giveaway as well. Have a read through what I think of these sunglasses and if they sound like something you’d like to have for yourself, simply sign up for BTB’s Newsletter (click here to sign up) and then leave us a comment saying that you’ve got yourself signed up and you’re in to win.  The lucky winner will get a pair of the BTB 400 Series sunglasses. (Contest is now Closed).

The Review

The folks at BTB gave me a pair of their 910 glasses to check out because I have a smallish face and these are one of their recommended choices for my size. Here is a quick overview of what these sunglasses have to offer:

  • Complete UVA and UVB protection
  • Polycarbonate frame
  • hypoallergenic temples and nose-pieces with an Anti-Bacterial agent for heavy perspiration environments
  • Serious impact resistance (see video below)
  • Ballistic Rated…I’m not sure what that means, but it sounds pretty cool

What I Liked

  • It could just be coincidence, but I have been on 6 rides since getting my pair of 910′s in the mail and each and every one of these rides have been fantastic.  I’m a bit of a superstitious freak so I can’t help but think that the glasses had something to do with it.
  • With such an incredible impact resistance on the lenses, it makes me feel good knowing that if a rock came flying off a car tire and hit me, my eyes would be very well protected.
  • When I’m out on the bike, it’s not about fashion…but these glasses look really good and the vain side of me thinks that’s very important.
  • I like how they categorize each of their glasses to what size of face they are best suited for.  That’s a big plus when ordering sunglasses online.
  • This lens test is cool and worth watching:

What I Didn’t

  •  The 910 model fits very closely to the face, so on some of my sweatier rides I had sweat run down onto the lenses and blurred things a little for me.
  • Although the frames are proven to be very impact resistant, they didn’t feel ultimately secured to my face.  I’m not sure how to explain this one, but they don’t seem to lock into my face like some of my other sunglasses do.

The Company

BTB Sunglasses prides themselves on offering “the best $100+ glasses for under $50″.  I have to admit, I was a little sceptical of how good these glasses were going to be and wasn’t sure about having them send me a pair to try out.  But after checking out their website and seeing all the facts, information, and detail they put into it…I knew they were worth a try.

This is a Husband and Wife run company and they really look to have put all they’ve got into delivering a quality product whether you’re looking for cycling sunglasses, sports sunglasses, or running sunglasses.  A portion of each sunglass sale is donated to the BTB Foundation…a non-profit that helps to actively promote youth participation in all ball sports for a healthier and active lifestyle.

Final Thoughts

Any lesser known sunglass company is always going to have a battle competing with the big dogs like Oakley, Arnette, and Spy….but if you aren’t brand obsessed, then the BTB’s are definitely worth checking out.  Find the style and fit that works best for you.  Better yet, keep your expensive name brand sunglasses for day to day use and get a pair of these to drip all that sweat on during your ride.

Tip: Be sure to rinse off your sunglasses after every ride.  If not, the salt in your sweat will start eating away at the plastic and will also eventually mess up your lens.

The Giveaway

This contest is now closed.  Congratulations to Michael Zubia, the winner of a great new pair of BTB 400 Series Sunglasses.  Thanks to everyone who entered.

As we said at the top of the post, be sure to head over to www.btbsunglasses.com and sign up for their newsletter.  Once you’ve done that, leave a comment below (yes, we trust your good honor) and you’re in to win a pair of BTB 400 Series sunglasses.  We’ll take entries up until Noon EST on Monday (October 3) and announce the winner soon after.  For anyone who doesn’t win and still wants to get a pair of these glasses, BTB has provided a 20% off coupon to our readers. Purchase a pair of their glasses and when checking out, enter LOVING20 as the coupon code.

Enjoy Your Ride

Tags: , ,

Pin It

42 Responses to “ Win a Pair of Cycling Sunglasses ”

  1. Jamesbaacon on October 5, 2011 at 1:41 am

    A most common all other benefit ans allows any to kids of bar and very nice all other any kids of located all to shop a purchase to leave a comment and new company a product.

  2. Anonymous on October 3, 2011 at 9:04 am

    I could sure use a new pair of sunglasses. Just signed up over at the btbsunglasses.com site.

  3. Mark. on October 2, 2011 at 9:19 pm

    Signed up! Who wouldn’t wamt to win a pair of sunniies.

  4. Trimon29 on October 2, 2011 at 8:16 pm

    Signed up, Nice review Darryl good info, and good that you were open and honest and not selling out for the client (exactly what I would expect from you). Been to their site and the glasses look good. I never by the really expensive ones because I lose so many, but this price range is perfect if the quality is decent like it seems it is.

  5. jamie on October 1, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    thanks! signed up and in it to win.

  6. Chuck Nagy on October 1, 2011 at 6:59 pm

    Done…

  7. Bob on October 1, 2011 at 6:37 pm

    The future’s so bright I have to wear shades, hopefully won.  I’m signed up.

  8. Avinash Jose Ignatius on September 30, 2011 at 5:54 pm

    Done! :)

  9. Kendall Hill on September 30, 2011 at 2:56 pm

    Perfect timing on this contest, Darryl, as I am currently finding myself in need of a new pair of sunglasses. My previous pair are somewhere at the bottom of a rather large mud puddle currently.
     
    I have signed up for their eNewsletter.

  10. Ben Creydt on September 30, 2011 at 2:36 pm

    Now that is an amazing review…
    Not to start a flame-war, but what are good characteristics to look for in riding glasses?
    And I am signed-up, ready for the prizes…
    Could you review a bike and have prizes for that?!? :D

    • Darryl is Loving the Bike on September 30, 2011 at 2:41 pm

      Thanks Ben, glad you liked it.  I would say that a good fit and a lens that allows you to see clearly is most important.  You don’t want to be continuously adjusting your glasses while out riding so that have to feel like they are a part of your face.  Polarized lenses are ideal, but if you don’t want to pay the additional money be sure to get protective lenses from UV and impact.

      We’d love to give away a bike, and I know that will happen one day in the near future.

      Darryl

  11. Ben Creydt on September 30, 2011 at 2:34 pm

    Now that is a review!  

  12. Tkdista69 on September 30, 2011 at 2:16 pm

    I signed up for emails and the contest!  My son is a cyclist and I would LOVE to 1) give these to him or 2) Tell him to sign up and get his OWN pair!  lol

  13. kim on September 30, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    Signed up. I really need to quit squinting so I hope I win.

  14. April Riggs on September 30, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    Can they have RX lenses put in? Just curious…can’t see w/o glasses and do not wear contacts.

    • Darryl is Loving the Bike on September 30, 2011 at 2:31 pm

      Someone else asked about that as well and I’ve sent off a message to the company.  I’ll let you know.

    • Darryl is Loving the Bike on September 30, 2011 at 7:31 pm

      Hi April, I checked with BTB and they said any of their Framed Glassed can have RX (200, 500, and 700 Series).  They don’t service them and you’d need to go through your optometrist. 

  15. Michael Zubia on September 30, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    done and done. 

    • Darryl is Loving the Bike on October 3, 2011 at 10:37 am

      Congratulations Michael, you’re the winner in our BTB Giveaway.  A new pair of 400 Series sunglasses are coming your way.  We’re going to send you a message with more details.

  16. Darrell Robertson on September 30, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    The only thing better than a good pair of sunglasses, is a shapely nose and good pair of ears to hold them on your face.

  17. Darrell Robertson on September 30, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    The only thing better than a good pair of sunglasses, is a shapely nose and good pair of ears to hold them on your face.

  18. Richard Lee on September 30, 2011 at 1:02 pm

    Hi Darryl,

    Enjoyed your review, count me in!

    Richard

  19. Amber on September 30, 2011 at 1:01 pm

    All signed up! Thanks for the helpful review –am looking for sunglasses since I don’t have any right now and have a smallish face too.

    • Darryl is Loving the Bike on September 30, 2011 at 2:41 pm

      Yeah, it can be difficult sometimes to find sunglasses that fit properly on a small face.  BTB seems to have a few options for faces like ours.

  20. Jennifer Sage on September 30, 2011 at 1:01 pm

    Done! 

  21. Katie on September 30, 2011 at 11:49 am

    Just signed up for the newsletter!  Would love to win new cycling glasses.  My photochromatic ones have annoying rubber things on the side pieces that are constantly popping out.

  22. PedalmanTO on September 30, 2011 at 9:24 am

    Great review Darryl. All signed up and ready to ride.

  23. Victoria Neafus on September 30, 2011 at 8:17 am

    Great review!

  24. Bob A on September 30, 2011 at 7:43 am

    Are they Rx-able?!?  That’s my biggest beef w/ trying to find cycling sunglasses – none seem to be suitable to prescription lenses.  Mostly because they have too much curvature, which distorts the Rx.

    • Darryl is Loving the Bike on September 30, 2011 at 9:30 am

      Good question, Bob.  I couldn’t find anything about it on their website but I’ll send them a message and find out for you.

    • Darryl is Loving the Bike on September 30, 2011 at 7:32 pm

      Hi Bob, I checked with BTB and they said any of their Framed Glassed can have RX (200, 500, and 700 Series).  They don’t service them and you’d need to go through your optometrist. 

      • Bob A on October 3, 2011 at 10:46 am

        That’s awesome, Darryl! I’ll keep them in mind the next time I need a new pair of Rx sunglasses.  (Not too soon, just paid too much for some Maui Jims I use while riding.)

  25. Weiland on September 30, 2011 at 7:21 am

    I’m in, please wipe the sweat off them before you give them to me.

  26. Jessicael on September 30, 2011 at 7:17 am

    All signed up :)

  27. Jessicael on September 30, 2011 at 7:17 am

    All signed up :)

  28. Bob on September 30, 2011 at 7:13 am

    I’m all signed up, and BTW ballistic means they withstand being shot with a firearm.

    • Darryl is Loving the Bike on September 30, 2011 at 9:30 am

      Thanks Bob………I was going to say have a ballistic day, but with what it mean I don’t think that sounds very good.  Hahahaha.  Good luck….we’ll announce the winner on Monday.

  29. Ashley Hill on September 30, 2011 at 6:12 am

    Done!

  30. Bryan on September 30, 2011 at 5:06 am

    Nice review Darrel.

Leave a Reply

Sponsors

Featured on these top sites

Blog Partners

Cycling 360 Podcast

Popular Threads

Causes

Sugar Alternatives for Energy and Hydration

Question: I am using the homebrew sugar formulations (sometimes added to green tea).  I am also trying to wean myself off 1/2 dose adrenalean “lip tonic delivery system” (biorhythm brand- caffeine, hoodia g, synephrine, yohimbe) capsule for energy.

My question is other than juice, can you suggest modifications in lieu of table sugar for energy and hydration.

Answer:

Both raw/organic honey or agave can work great in the homebrew (substitute in the same quantities for the sugar, or to taste), but you do have to shake well in order to make sure they don’t settle out.  Have you tried either of these?  Also, make sure to use at least the minimum amount of salt recommended in the homebrew as the temps rise, you need the sodium replacement if you’re sweating.

Sports Drink Homebrew

Please send us your questions for our Expert Sports Nutritionist, Kelli Jennings to “Ask the Sports Nutritionist“. Kelli Jennings is a Registered Dietitian with a passion for healthy eating, wellness, & sports nutrition. For more information go to www.apexnutritionllc.com.

Nutrition Tips