Put This In Your Cupboard

10
May
2010

Disclosure: When I wrote this post, I had absolutely no affiliation with Progressive (the makers of VegeGreens).  I simply liked their product and wanted everyone to know how I felt.  As always, the Loving the Bike reviews is totally and completely a 100% honest review.

Anyway, after the post went out Progressive found out about it and were very pleased to see what was said about their product.  So impressed that they wanted to become a sponsor of this blog.  So when you read this review, please be ensured that what was said about this product was a completely honest and non-biased opinion.

I’ll guarantee that this product is not normally found in most cyclist’s kitchen cupboards….but it really should be.

VegeGreens by Progressive is a self proclaimed “Ultimate Super Food”, and in my opinion they aren’t far off in that statement.  Get this, VegeGreens is packed with over 6o land, sea, and cruciferous vegetables.  If you don’t know what cruciferous vegetables are….let me say this, it’s the scientific name for a group of vegetables that just might provide protection against certain cancers.  They contain antioxidants and are high in fiber, vitamins and minerals. Examples of cruciferous veggies are broccoli, kale, cabbage, rutabagas, and turnips.

Basically, it is a nice old glass of goodness for your body in a quick and easy to drink mixture

Okay, so why do I think you need to get this stuff into your kitchen cupboard?

Well, I would say that there is a lot of great foods and supplements that will help make you a better cyclists and help increase your athletic performance….but the benefits found in just one small scoop of this bad boy can’t be beat.  Of course it would be better to go out and shop for each of these 60+ ingredients and get them fresh….then clean and cut them and blend them up into a drink.  If you have the time for that, I say go for it.  But if you want all this goodness with the simplicity of just having to mix it up in a glass of water, you’ve got to get on board.  You know what?  VegeGreens doesn’t even have any artificial flavors, colors, or sweeteners….so it really is the absolute closest thing to the real deal.

What will it do for you?

The first day I took VegeGreens was about a month ago.  I’m not sure if it was psychological or really happening, but I swear that my immune and digestive systems were smiling from the moment I chugged back the glass.  We all know that we’re supposed to take our vegetables, but what’s most important is getting the right vegetables inside of you.  Taking a look through the ingredients of VegeGreens….I cannot find anything that could possibly be missing. This stuff rocks, and it’s got what your body needs.

I can’t guarantee that it will make you a better cyclist, but I can guarantee that it will help keep your body functioning at it’s highest level.  Try telling me that won’t do something for your cycling.

How does it taste?

What else can you tell me?

VegeGreens is not cheap….well at least it doesn’t appear to be at first.  Picking up a small container for $60 sort of makes you shake your head when walking out the store.  But it works out to about $1 per serving and in today’s world, that isn’t too bad.  If you’re wanting to make it last longer, I would suggest taking it every second day and at that frequency it will still be valuable to your body.

I was going to list off all the benefits taking VegeGreens will provide you with, but that would make for a very long list.  So please visit their benefits page and see why there isn’t too much this stuff won’t help you with.

I should also mention that you should steer clear of it if you’re a child, pregnant, or lactating.  This was actually an issue here in my house.  My wife is currently breast feeding our 2 month old baby boy and I really couldn’t see it being a problem.  But it does say this on the label so we checked it out with our family doctor and he suggested doing as it says.  That’s good enough for me and she’ll be off it for now.

I really am impressed with this stuff and I know there are other similar products in the market, but I’m standing behind Progressive and VegeGreens. I’m sold on the benefits it provides and I’m suggesting this to you because I honestly feel that everyone should be in-taking what this product has to offer. Progressive is a Canadian company, so if you aren’t able to pick it up in your local health food or grocery store, ask them what they have in the way of Phytonutrients or “Green” veggie mixes.  Get this stuff in your cupboard and then come back and tell me how glad you are that I pushed you into it.

Enjoy Your Ride

Tags: ,

Pin It

23 Responses to “ Put This In Your Cupboard ”

  1. Linda on July 29, 2014 at 3:26 pm

    I agree on all accounts. someone at work hooked me on this stuff. Not only do i feel better, but two weeks into it, i had lost 15lbs and gone from a lifetime of 210/105 blood pressure to 135/90 which is boderline normal. Thank god for Vegegreens!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Hyan Ranma on April 2, 2013 at 9:13 pm

    you pay 60$ in the states omg I thought it was expensive here in Canada lol its 35$ here. :D
    stuff is awesome, it balances out my whole body and gives me good energy and a better sense of well being.

    • George on February 28, 2014 at 4:31 pm

      So cool, SOMETHING cheaper in Canada. I was at Kardish looking at supplements, noticing Vegegreens I thought they looked like they might be good and affordable, worried about taste though. The one I using now, tastes like dirt and no amount of berries improves it. I will giving Vegegreens a try, very happy they are 2 minutes away and I don’t have order them online from the States. Kardish is right beside a Qiznos too, my guilty pleasure.

  3. Rowan on December 28, 2012 at 11:21 am

    It tastes awful, but I love it!

  4. Daniel on November 1, 2012 at 6:53 am

    this stuff just makes you feel amazing, more energetic and otherall just better. hard to pinpoint the effects but I am thoroughly surprised despite my initial skepticism.

  5. John on October 22, 2012 at 4:15 pm

    I’m entering in a new life since I began to take vegegreens and phytobery. These products are awesome. I had digestive problem since many years and I feel the differences after the first try. That product really worth much more than the money you spend on it… I tried a lot of similar and expensive digestive products with poor results. It’s miraculous for me, I’m almost breathless. I’m not used to take nutriment shake and I think that the taste is not so bad. It’s strange to feel the taste of alga and berry in same time but it doesn’t matter for me. Before, it was tough to get threw a working day, but now I still full of energy even after a rough day.
    Best product ever!!!

  6. tim on May 3, 2012 at 4:39 pm

    P.S
     Getting back on the bike this year :)

  7. tim on May 3, 2012 at 4:38 pm

    I have been taking vege greens for a week and I cant begin to tell you how much better I feel!! more energy, I think more clearly, I sleep better at night, and when I get up in the morning I feel awake, instead of wanting to crawl back under the covers!!!
     I mix it with some OJ in the morning and I`m good for the entire day…..I dont feel I need my old man nap in the afternoon.
     Amazing stuff, two thumbs up :)

  8. pure life colon cleanse on November 10, 2010 at 7:00 pm

    I really liked this info shown it has given me a bit of inspiration to have success for some reason, so keep up the good work.

  9. Ellie on May 14, 2010 at 5:49 pm

    I’m so glad you found Vegegreens…I’m a holistic nutritionist and personal trainer and I’ve been giving vegegreens to my clients for years. I take it every morning as my pre-workout drink as well. It is best to keep your greens in the fridge as Sabrina said, but you don’t need to worry about the flax oil going rancid. It is freeze-dried and the expiry date of the product is based on the shelf-life of the freeze-dried flax oil. I’ve been working with the company responsible for Progressive products for years and I can attest that they are a high-integrity bunch that really want to make the best products possible. All of their products are YEARS in research and development and their formula’s are all designed by Dr. Mikhael Adams, an award-winning naturopathic doctor with a VERY successful practice in Ontario, Canada. I love to see someone with as much enthusiasm for this product as I have…
    Ellie

    • Darryl on May 15, 2010 at 9:10 am

      Thanks for your comments, Ellie. As you and Sabina mentioned, products like these should always be kept in the fridge…..they should really list that on their label as it doesn’t say anywhere on it to do so.

      With all the nutritional products out there its hard to know which are actually good quality ones and worth taking. Progressive is one of the first that I’ve come along in a while that makes me feel this way and it’s good to hear the same thing from others.

      I wouldn’t recommend it if I didn’t completely believe in it and I’ve very happy to have come across it.

  10. Lauren on May 14, 2010 at 9:17 am

    For an extra boost you can try the VegeGreens Vegan Protein. It’s got it all! And it’s super tasty blended with a banana and some almond milk!

    • Darryl on May 14, 2010 at 10:09 am

      Thanks for the tip.

    • Robert on April 26, 2011 at 6:47 am

      I normally mix it with phytoberry to make it taste better but I will def try it instead with a banana and almond or coconut milk tomorrow. :) Thanks for the tip. I go back and forth between it and Vega CWHO and am never sure which is a better product.

      • Darryl on April 26, 2011 at 1:34 pm

        Let me know what you think about it, Robert.

  11. SAbrina on May 12, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    I totally agree, I love this stuff!! But you may want to keep it in the fridge :) it has flax as well as probiotics in it ;)

    • Darryl on May 12, 2010 at 10:12 pm

      Good advice…..thanks for dropping by and leaving your comments.

  12. Amanda on May 10, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    I can’t wait to be able to take this stuff again. It seemed to give me a much needed boost in the morning, that lasted through the rest of the day (with a balanced diet of course)…..and with a taste that was pretty decent.
    I’m also sold on this stuff!!

  13. Justin S Hubbard on May 10, 2010 at 8:29 am

    I will be adding this to my grocery list. Thanks for the tip.

    • Loving the Bike on May 10, 2010 at 8:34 am

      Good to hear it…..let me know if you’re able to find it in the States. If you can’t get VegeGreens, there will be something similar for sure. I’d never recommend it if I wasn’t 100% sold on the product….I know you’ll dig it. Once you try it out, check back and let me know your thoughts.

      Darryl

      • Joanne on May 13, 2010 at 7:21 am

        VegeGreens will be available at Health Food Stores in the U.S. early June 2010.(Whole Foods Market, Vitamin Shoppe, Henry’s and Independent Health Food Stores) The Brand Name in Canada is Progressive and in the U.S. the Brand Name is Proventive. The formula’s are exactly the same.
        In the meantime if you wish to purchase the prodcuts immediately it can be ordered on line through the below Canadian contacts:

        health@feelgoodnatural.com 877-677-7797

        http://www.bodyenergyclub.ca

        or you can contact us directly at:

        Joanne@progressivnutritional.com

        • Darryl on May 13, 2010 at 9:08 pm

          Thanks for providing this great information, Joanne. I know our readers will find it useful. Good luck with your US launch and I’m looking forward to talking to you guys about partnering.

          Darryl

Leave a Reply

Sponsors

Featured on these top sites

Blog Partners

Cycling 360 Podcast

Popular Threads

Causes

Sugar Alternatives for Energy and Hydration

Question: I am using the homebrew sugar formulations (sometimes added to green tea).  I am also trying to wean myself off 1/2 dose adrenalean “lip tonic delivery system” (biorhythm brand- caffeine, hoodia g, synephrine, yohimbe) capsule for energy.

My question is other than juice, can you suggest modifications in lieu of table sugar for energy and hydration.

Answer:

Both raw/organic honey or agave can work great in the homebrew (substitute in the same quantities for the sugar, or to taste), but you do have to shake well in order to make sure they don’t settle out.  Have you tried either of these?  Also, make sure to use at least the minimum amount of salt recommended in the homebrew as the temps rise, you need the sodium replacement if you’re sweating.

Sports Drink Homebrew

Please send us your questions for our Expert Sports Nutritionist, Kelli Jennings to “Ask the Sports Nutritionist“. Kelli Jennings is a Registered Dietitian with a passion for healthy eating, wellness, & sports nutrition. For more information go to www.apexnutritionllc.com.

Nutrition Tips