Revisiting Our Product Reviews

17
Aug
2012

Pretty much every product review we’ve done has went up on the site after only trying the item out very briefly….so I’m back again to revisit some of these reviews and provide my feedback now that I’ve been able to give them a more thorough trial.

Shot Roks – Review Done on May 28, 2010

My post about Shot Roks from Clif Bar was one of the first reviews I did here at Loving the Bike.  It was an unsolicited review meaning that they didn’t send me free samples to try out.  I posted the review because I simply believed in the product and wanted to get the word out to my fellow cyclists.  It was an open-hearted and honest review and I’ve kept that same attitude throughout all the reviews done since then.

What’s cool about this review is that it caught the attention of the guys from Clif Bar and in turn created the opportunity for me to become an ambassador for their company.  So although I purchased the product for that first review, I now receive all the product I could ever want.  I enjoy getting the chance to promote a company that provides great products to cyclists and athletes and am a proud supporter of all they do.

Pearl Izumi Road Race Shoe – Review Done on August 10, 2011

It was the nice shipment from the folks at Pearl Izumi that provided me with my first complementary package of cycling sweetness.  They sent a couple kits along with a hot pair of cycling shoes.  Right away I could tell that the shoes were great, but the review went up after only wearing them a few times.

I’ve had them now for over a year, and can honestly say that they’re still the best pair of cycling shoes I’ve ever owned.  Add in the custom Footbalance insoles that I received last year and my feet are in heaven on each ride.

iBert Safe-T-Seat – Review Done on January 13, 2012

I was a little skeptical of this child seat when I first received the iBert, but because it looked so cool and was something my Son was so excited about…I just had to give it a chance.  It was great to be able to ride around with my Baby Boy right there in front of me, but the more I used it the more I got the feeling that it just wasn’t all that safe.

I used it on a few short trips around the neighborhood, but then ended up giving it away in March.  I’ve seen these being sold at Mellow Johnny’s and REI, and am actually quite surprised that they would carry an item that is not as safe as other options on the market.  My Son really loved that seat, but now seems happy riding behind me once again in the Chariot trailer.

Reveal the Path Movie – Review Done on June 13, 2012

It’s been just a couple months since my Son and I got the chance to premier the movie, Reveal the Path – “a visually stunning adventure by bike”.  I gave this movie a spectacular review and I can honestly say that I can’t wait to see it again.  I might not get the chance to see it up on the big screen again, but will definitely pick up a DVD to keep with me.

There are a few more screenings of this movie going on in the US through October, so check out their listings and be sure to take it in if they’re coming to your city.  Otherwise, be sure to grab a DVD so you can be inspired for life on and off the bike whenever you need it.  You need to see this movie.

Other than the Clif Bar Shot Bloks, I was comp’d all these other items….but if you know me, then you’ll know that my reviews are honest and I’m not just plugging any of these because they’re paying me to do so.  To read about all the reviews we’ve done here at Loving the Bike, head over to our “Real Product Reviews” section.

Enjoy Your Ride

Tags: ,

Pin It

5 Responses to “ Revisiting Our Product Reviews ”

  1. Pamela on August 17, 2012 at 3:32 pm

    Those Pearl Izumi shoes LOOK like they’re amazing.

  2. Reg on August 17, 2012 at 1:13 pm

    I like anything that clif has to offer. I have never tried the shot roks though and will need to pick some up. Thanks for the tip.

  3. Jerry on August 17, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    upon your recommendation last time I took in a viewing of Reveal the Path when it came to my city. I agree that it is very good and I would like a dvd copy to have for myself. I will go look into that now.

  4. Brandon Eason on August 17, 2012 at 10:04 am

    What was it about the iBert that you found unsafe Daryl? My kids are both too big, but I used it extensively probably a couple hundred miles on it, road and light trail, and I never felt unsafe with mine, and never had any mishaps. Just curious.

    • Darryl is Loving the Bike on August 17, 2012 at 10:14 am

      Hi Brandon, For me, the iBert seemed pretty flimsy and I wasn’t too keen on one little safety pin being all that really held it together. I found that the clamp that locked to the bike never held all that great either. I’m glad it worked out for you. I never had any major issues, but just never felt too confident in it.

Leave a Reply

Sponsors

Featured on these top sites

Blog Partners

Cycling 360 Podcast

Causes

Sugar Alternatives for Energy and Hydration

Question: I am using the homebrew sugar formulations (sometimes added to green tea).  I am also trying to wean myself off 1/2 dose adrenalean “lip tonic delivery system” (biorhythm brand- caffeine, hoodia g, synephrine, yohimbe) capsule for energy.

My question is other than juice, can you suggest modifications in lieu of table sugar for energy and hydration.

Answer:

Both raw/organic honey or agave can work great in the homebrew (substitute in the same quantities for the sugar, or to taste), but you do have to shake well in order to make sure they don’t settle out.  Have you tried either of these?  Also, make sure to use at least the minimum amount of salt recommended in the homebrew as the temps rise, you need the sodium replacement if you’re sweating.

Sports Drink Homebrew

Please send us your questions for our Expert Sports Nutritionist, Kelli Jennings to “Ask the Sports Nutritionist“. Kelli Jennings is a Registered Dietitian with a passion for healthy eating, wellness, & sports nutrition. For more information go to www.apexnutritionllc.com.

Nutrition Tips